A Day at the Newseum

One of the best parts of attending the University of Maryland is living close to Washington, D.C. Last Saturday, I ventured into the District to visit the Newseum for the third time. I’ve learned something new during every trip.

img_6191
Information in the Pullman Family History of Liberty Gallery: “1776 – Breaking News: Independence” exhibit featured many comic book style photographs, as pictured above. Photo credit: Alyssa Zinar

After completing an ethics assignment for class, I explored the new aspects of the museum. Since my last visit, the Newseum has added a few new exhibits, including Pulliam Family History of Liberty Gallery: “1776 — Breaking News: Independence” and Pulitzer Prizes at 100: The Editorial Cartoons of Jack Ohman. Both of these exhibits are visually and mentally stimulating, in addition to complementing the permanent exhibits. However, out of all the exhibits, both permanent and changing, I still believe that my favorite is the NBC News Interactive Newsroom.

Lights, Camera, Action 

The Interactive Newsroom allows museum visitors to step into the shoes of news reporters. At any of the provided Be A TV Reporter stations, visitors can insert themselves into the action by standing in front of a green screen and reading the provided news script. I realized how difficult presenting the news can be as I watched inexperienced people read from the teleprompter. I, personally, do not like being in front of the camera. Therefore, out of all 3 of my visits to the Newseum I have never actually tried out being a reporter in the newsroom. However, the exhibit also provides the unique opportunity of preparing the front page of a newspaper for publishing. The interactive nature and learning experience make the exhibit a fundamental portion of the Newseum. 

img_0213
An inside view of the one of the Be A TV Reporter stations in the NBC News Interactive Newsroom. Photo credit: Alyssa Zinar

Reporting on my Future 

For as long as I can remember, I’ve dreamt about having a career in the television industry. Although my exact future career is undecided, the Interactive Newsroom embodied aspects that relate to my potential career. My job could involve writing scripts that display on the teleprompter, filming or editing the news reports for broadcasting, or reporting the news live. Truthfully, I would be ecstatic to have any one of those jobs as my career because they allow me to intertwine my public relations and marketing skills.

Overall, the exhibit allowed me to get a taste of what my future could look like, and it looks pretty bright to me. I cannot wait to see what my fourth trip to the Newseum has in store.

Sources:

NBC News Interactive Newsroom. (2016). Retrieved September 22, 2016, from http://www.newseum.org/exhibits/current/nbc-news-interactive-newsroom/ 

Leave a Reply

